Chop time 

dear darling chemo and creme egg readers, hi, it’s been a while ey.

Welcome to 2017. So far uneventful & believe me there have been events since we last spoke that I need to fill you in on. BUT later. 

 This is my last evening at home before I resubmerge myself into the Cambridge bubble. And so to celebrate and send me on my way, the mothership is insisting (as she has been for the past year) that I get a haircut. She’s finally broken me. That or I’m desperately procrastinating the tricky middle paragraphs of my dissertation away. ..

At 5.30 I’m going for the chop. Well it’ll be a trim. A couple of inches at the most. I’ve dug my heels in for long enough. These beautiful chemo curls will either prove themselves to be just that – chemo curls, or my hair may actually have gone curly… I’ll keep you posted. 

Anyway this is a fairly big deal for me and I wanted to share it with you. I mean, you were there when I shaved it, when mum hoovered it off (top tip : saves the mess), when I was complaining about looking like an egg with eyeballs, you were there when life as a Maggie Thatcher hair model transitioned into an untameable Diana tribute circa ’87, and when I couldn’t quite do much other than be happy I had some thermal protection for my ears. So here we go. Bye bye baby fresh (little bit dry but loved none the less) hair. You made me look more human than I felt and I’m grateful to you for deciding to sprout again from the lid. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chop time 

  1. Jane Helder

    Olivia you are a very pretty girl whether your hair is long or short.
    Just dont let them scalp you as that doesnt suit anyone.
    Men prefer girls with long hair of course so, the decision is yours!!

Leave a comment